If you like to have a short stay in Aruba. A visa is one of the requirements for admission to Aruba for a person with a nationality.

The visa is valid for the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, not just Aruba. Unless the “valid for” visa has the abbreviation T.B.G.V. state. This means territorial limited valid visa. Then your visa is valid only for the country designated as the main destination.

Types of visa

There are two types of visas. These differences in the length of validity of the visa:

  1. A visa valid for 180 days. During these 180 days, you can travel to Aruba multiple times. You can stay on Aruba for up to 30 days.
  2. A visa valid for 4 years. During these 4 years, you can travel to Aruba multiple times. You can stay on Aruba for up to 30 days. You can stay in Aruba for a total of 180 days per the calendar

Visa waiver

If you have the nationality of one of these countries, you are required to obtain a visa. In some cases, you will be exempted from your visa requirement. Read the following terms to see if you are entitled to a waiver of your visa requirement.

Conditions for exemption from visa requirement

You are exempted of your visa requirements if you meet one of the following conditions:

  1. You have a valid residence permit for:
    1. another part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands;
    2. a country which is a member of the Schengen Treaty;
    3. the United States of America;
    4. Canada;
    5. The United Kingdom;
    6. Ireland;
    7. Switzerland
  2. You have a Bolivian or Jamaican passport and a valid visa (entry) for the United States of America, Canada, and a country that is a member of the Schengen Treaty, the United Kingdom or Ireland.
  3. You travel within 24 hours of arrival on Aruba to another destination. Please note that to do this, you must have valid tickets with reserved seats, and documents required for the trip.
  4. You are coming by plane to Aruba and transit within 24 hours aboard a cruise ship, or you are coming with a cruise ship to Aruba and transit within 24 hours through the airport.
  5. You are a passenger of a cruise ship and transit for a period of less than 24 hours on Aruba.
  6. You have a diplomatic passport and nationality of: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bolivia, Indonesia, Jamaica, Macedonia, Malawi, Morocco, Moldova, Montenegro, Ukraine, Pakistan, Peru, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, Thailand, Chad, Tunisia, Turkey or the United Arab Emirates; holders of service passports that the nationality of Bolivia, Indonesia, Jamaica, Malawi, Morocco, Peru, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey or the United Arab Emirates.
  7. You are the holder of a laissez-passer issued by the World Bank, the IMF, the United Nations or its specialized agencies.
  8. You are the crew of a sea-going ship that docks in Aruba, or by an aircraft that lands in Aruba. And: you provide no danger to public order, the security of Aruba, or of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. You are staying in addition up to 48 hours in Aruba.

This is how you request your visa

Are you subject to a visa requirement as described above and are you not eligible for a waiver of visa requirement? Then you must apply for a visa. This is done before traveling to Aruba. You personally request the visa at an embassy or consulate of the Kingdom of the Netherlands or a designated EDV. More information can be obtained from the embassy or consulate. You will find the contact details on the website: